365 Project: Day 106 – Police matter

IMG_0191

The other day, after scraping the snow on my car, I found myself running short of time in catching my train. So I parked at the demarcation line for 2-hour parking and for the depot. I have parked there many times before but this time when I returned I saw a parking ticket left in my windshield.

I was miffed because I just paid another ticket for being a day late in buying my car sticker. I thought I had a month grace period, what do I know, the city don’t give you allowances when it comes to collection. And that day I parked my car in the same spot but they didn’t mention that I parked in a 2-hour parking.

I called the police department to contest my ticket and they said they just started ticketing that area. But they told me if I bring my quarter parking pass, they would waive my penalty.

They close late on Tuesday and Thursday so right after work I drove straight at the police department. No questions asked, I just showed my permit.

Good thing I didn’t just pay. I won’t ever park in that gray area again even though I could argue that that sign is not very clear.

What do you think?

This entry was posted in 9 to 5 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 365 Project: Day 106 – Police matter

  1. kyangel17 says:

    Sometimes it’s really worth it to fight city hall.

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    After parking in the same spot for so long without being ticketed I think is foul. I think their sign is very ambiguous.

    Like

  3. cyardin says:

    Lucky for you there was someone pragmatic and reasonable to deal with.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    If not, I could have gone to the traffic court because that sign could be interpreted both ways.

    Like

  5. viveka says:

    Those signs had made me very confused!!!! Glad that things went well for you.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Isn’t it confusing? This morning, I made sure I didn’t park on that spot, I parked where it is clearly delineated for depot parking. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

