Tagged P: Porridge

Champorado

Champorado

This is my entry to Frizztext’s AtoZ Challenge, here.

Yesterday I cooked a breakfast porridge which we call champorado. Haven’t had it for years. This porridge is very popular in the Philippines. Just another way of having rice for breakfast.

The mixture is cooked on low over stove fire so it won’t overflow. I like to mix regular rice with sweet rice (soaked in water overnight), so it does not get watery. As learned from my mother, I added a dash of salt and sweetened with brown sugar. Later cocoa powder was added.

I wanted to be artsy and draw a heart with milk but it is too fluid, so so much for that. LOL Instead I created an island of chocolate porridge in a sea of milk.

Champorado can be eaten alone, this time I also cooked some Filipino sausage. For me, the best combination to go with it is fried salted dry fish. “Eeeewe!” you say but in Asia that is the common way of preserving or treating fish before refrigeration. The salty taste of the dried fish provides a good balance to the sweet taste of the porridge or champorado.

Hearty!

365 Project: Day 117

This entry was posted in Food, Remembering Mom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tagged P: Porridge

  1. alifemoment says:

    Really interesting!!!:)

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Champorado is a common breakfast fare in the Philippines. We must have gotten it from when we were under the Spanish rule.

    Like

  3. alifemoment says:

    thank for the information, I like studying the history behind food, it generally show the country’s culture 🙂

    Like

  4. frizztext says:

    very interesting, your “island of chocolate porridge in a sea of milk”!

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    lol, thanks Frizztext!

    Like

  6. lolaWi says:

    just introduced this to tj and he’s not up to it yet. he made a funny face the first time he tasted it. 🙂

    Like

  7. viveka says:

    Chocolate porridge!!???? Something new to me. I grow up on porridge during my school years and I still love it. I eat at least one per week and sometimes when I don’t feel for making a cooked dinner – I have porridge. Great entry.

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    LolaWi, maybe he can’t relate to having chocolate in his rice.

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    Try it Viveka, when I was a kid we’d use condensed milk to make it sweeter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

