Backyard gardener

What should I call myself, gardener or a farmer? I prefer to be called a farmer as I grew up in a multi-generation of one but I don’t have a farm (not yet) so for the meantime, I am a gardener once again. Oh I miss my Mom as this was her forte, her pride and joy among many other things.

My poor man's green house

My poor man’s green house

Am grateful that the late Benny was an avid gardener. He had all the tools, even a portable composter. I have started dumping kitchen scraps there hoping it will work in my case because the first and last time I tried, we dug a hole in our yard, in short it didn’t work. He also has growing lights but I think I will use that next year. This time I am improvising and just like with the composter, am keeping my fingers crossed, and pray!

I don’t have Benny’s magic touch who could plant anything and everything and would grow lush and productive.

It is going to be in the high 50s today and by Thursday it will go to warm 70s. I kept two of my heirloom tomato seeds as it is too late now but tried instead a Hawaiian tomato. Let’s see if it grows, I am tempted to just buy from Home Depot seedlings I could just replant but the neighbor has consistently given us a generous supply last year. They were sweet grape tomatoes.

Spring, where are you?

365 Project: Day 121

This entry was posted in Day-to-day, Garden, Remembering Mom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Backyard gardener

  1. Amy says:

    I think gardening is a very rewarding experience 🙂

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    It is Amy. When am gardening, all my worries are forgotten. It could make one’s life less stressful and just watching something to grow makes you very happy.

    Like

  3. lolaWi says:

    The forecast this week looks promising. Fingers crossed 🙂

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    I heard it is going to be warm tomorrow. I hope it is true or my seeds will rot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

