1 Day 1 World Project: 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm

Happy Mother’s Day!

Am not a mom in the strictest definition of the term. The closest am going to be is as a mom to a couple of felines – Sissi and Pixie. Am an aunt and all I could hope for is am doing it as well as my predecessors. I was raised by a doting aunt, grandaunt and grandparents and they were wonderful. My mom was pretty awesome too so I got lucky.

Anyway my cousin has once again invited me to join them in honoring his wife and mom. Because he closes his business Sunday noon, he made a reservation for 12:30 pm but his wife, Frida, thought it was moved to 1:00. My aunt and I were the first to arrive and later my two cousins. Frida went to the 11:30 mass thinking they will have plenty of time for the brunch reservation at 1:00 pm.

Like last year it was at Scapa, an Italian restaurant in Clarendon Hills. We all like it there because the food is always great, waitstaff are efficient and the place is beautifully decorated without breaking the bank. Four times in a year they offer a buffet.

So we sat there waiting for Frida and my niece. When we couldn’t wait any much longer we started on the appetizer. We all tried to work up an appetite going there because it will be one big food indulgence. A little past one pm is a bit late for brunch, don’t you agree? But they got there as soon as we came back from our first trip to the buffet table.

I hope all the mothers, doting aunts and single dad’s were all honored and remembered this day. To be a mother is a great responsibility and not everyone can do it well. I truly take my hats off to all of you.

This is my entry to Lisa’s challenge. This is what happened at 1:00 today although we lingered at the restaurant for a lot longer than 2:00 pm. To see what goes on around the world at this time, go here.

Snapshots of our Mother’s Day celebration. 365 Project: Day 130

This entry was posted in Family, Food, My Core, Photo Challenge, Remembering Mom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 1 Day 1 World Project: 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm

  1. This looks like a wonderful way to spend your afternoon!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    It is. I wish we can do this every Sunday – a simpler one, one way to keep family ties stronger.

    Like

  3. trina59 says:

    The food looks really, really nice and it must have been nice to spend the day with family 🙂

    Like

  4. Heyjude says:

    Some good food here! Nice to share your lovely lunch with is all bebs 🙂
    Jude (another participant in the project)

    Like

  5. Heyjude says:

    ooops! I meant US of course 😀

    Like

  6. lolaWi says:

    Scapa must be good. It’ll be in my list to go next time.

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    Thank you Trina. Yes the food was really good and so many to choose from. There were many that we didn’t even try.

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Jude. I love to take food pictures.

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    Their food is good. They are open only for dinner I heard and closed on Sundays. Check their schedules. I’ve only been there for their buffet.

    Like

  10. Pingback: 1 Day 1 World Project: 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm | Northwest Frame of Mind

Leave a Reply

