Daily Post Weekly Challenge: On the move

Last night was Hercy’s celebration party given by his parents after he graduated from medical school at University of Illinois. He will soon start his residency at Northwestern Hospital. Am sure it is where he’s always wanted to be.

I have known Hercy’s parents for almost all my stay here in America. After all, his dad has been my boss for most of my stay here – 30 years plus. So they say am like family and I love them.

His parents had a beautiful shindig at the Spirit of Chicago. It was a lovely day – a glorious one, after the ups and downs of our weather this week – this one came perfect. But we all stayed at our deck, dancing and toasting the graduate. I also enjoyed the Chicago skyline as it was my first time cruising Lake Michigan at night.

At first I worried that I would be the only Asian amongst Greeks. I voiced my concern with my friend JA and his wife. He said they have no problem with that. That happened on my boss’s 50th birthday bash. Many then didn’t know me and I had to explain to them my relationship to the family. This time, everyone already knew or have heard of me and am not feeling quite as strange anymore.

Then Hercy’s classmates from medical school arrived. Most of them were Indians, Chinese, blacks and maybe one white. I no longer felt so different.

But this is all about On the Move. So here’s a video I took while the family was Greek dancing. The moves seem very simple but really it is quite hard to muster for a non-Greek. The cliche “practice makes perfect” is very true in this sense.

(Sorry, the quality is so much diminished because of the large picture. I wish I know how to make it smaller.)

365 Project: Day 129

Video | This entry was posted in Friendships, Photo Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daily Post Weekly Challenge: On the move

  1. Vivien says:

    The affair looked so much fun, I would imagine it would be difficult to learn the dance, but Jim is very adept with it. I could imagine how beautiful the city at nighttime, and how nice to be on the lake on a perfect day, weather-wise.

    Like

  2. restlessjo says:

    Can’t beat a bit of Greek dancing, Bebs šŸ™‚ Well, unless it’s Polish dancing, of course!
    I’m not doing either right now as I wrenched my knee very painfully at zumba yesterday- thank heavens, not before the wedding.

    Like

  3. Amy says:

    Greek dancing, how cool! I’m glad you went šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Oh their gatherings are so much fun. I love that Greek dancing is a group activity, as many people can join in. Just like many Greek people, Jim and family took Greek folk dancing growing up because it is present in every happy occasion. It is amazing that in their culture it is woven in all their celebrations, weddings, and in every village events. It is really a joy to watch them.

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    Oh no, I hope your know gets well soon. Yes, Polish polka is fun too!

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    I could not miss it. Hercy is such a great kid, they all are. I was actually very honored to be invited.

    Like

  7. Pingback: An engagement party | Taking a Deep Breath

Leave a Reply

