Wacky Spring weather

DSC_0105Good thing I still have my gloves in my tote as I needed it this morning. The temperature has dived low again after a beautiful Mother’s Day.

One day you turn on the a/c only to turn back to heat the next day. I don’t mind the showers and the rain because the plants and the trees need it but my seedlings don’t stand a chance. I was elated that at least my string beans came up but I was so disappointed when I saw it frozen this morning. I thought they have grown enough to withstand the cold temps but apparently not.

As a last minute measure to save them from further damage, I brought all my seeds and seedlings indoor and left them by the window. I am hoping the beans will recover.

I could not remember a Spring as crazy as this. Snow flurries in May?

365 Project: Day 135

This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wacky Spring weather

  1. Redneck Garage says:

    I would have to agree about the weird weather. Out here in the West, it almost reached 100 degrees this week. Now it is 69 degrees. Due to a dry winter we are under a mandatory 50% outdoor water reduction. No vegetable garden this year. Hoping to keep what I have alive.
    Patrick

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    We had 40s in the early morning last week for a few days! But, pm was mid 80s.

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    I wish you a lot of rain, not too much, enough. We have rain but the temperature is so low to be doing some gardening. Frustrating especially that we have a very short summer.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Wow, 40s to mid-80s! I wouldn’t know what to wear in that kind of weather.

    Like

  5. Amy says:

    I can’t believe it’s still cold in Chicago…

    Like

  6. Sounds like you need to invest in some cloches or fleece to protect vulnerable plants from cold temperatures. Nothing worse than losing stuff that’s growing well.

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    Oh I thought I lost them again yesterday. After I left them under the sun they almost burned. They looked the same way as way they got frozen. I watered them heavily and left them under the light overnight and they came back to life this morning. So I left them under the chair outside all day and they were fine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

