Room with a view

Yesterday, I spent a big part of my day in the garden. If not for the searing sun from noon to 4 pm I could have stayed there all day long.

Everyday I start at 5:30 in the morning and weekend is no different. It was a sunny bright day. My tomato seedlings are starting to turn yellow and they are not growing as fast as they should be so I was like a person with a mission. I even replanted my Thai basil and eggplants because they were too crowded from the vessel they were in. Am hoping they will do better in the ground and uncrowded although they were too young and tender. Keeping my fingers crossed.

The garden was my open room for the day. I had breakfast there and after gardening at noon, did my laundry, showered and a nap, I went back to the garden, checked on my transplants, sat down and relaxed with my crocheting.

Saturday morning, everyone was busy in their backyards. One neighbor had an all day party so early on you can hear children playing, do what kids do best – crying, screaming interspersed with laughter, neighbors talking from their own yards so you can imagine it was loud, it was like being in a barrio. But I would rather have that than not knowing your neighbors. Another neighbor’s radio was playing some Mexican fiesta music, it was lively I almost wanted to get up and do some dance steps but no, I savored it all in.

I enjoyed watching the flowers and the greens from my vantage point in between gardening and to be able to smell the soft and delicate fragrance of the blooms – peonies, roses, and lilac from a neighbors tree. And while you are there clipping, digging and weeding, the sweet floral scent mixed with the crushed dill caused by my garden stool – unbeatable! There is also the faint murmur from a brook small fountain.

The night before, my friend and I bought bird feeders – hers for wild birds and for myself, hummingbirds. We waited for the birds to land and enjoy our offerings but I guess they haven’t found it yet so they just kept flying and passing over us. Instead they feasted on the fertilizer granules I have put on my vegetables I hope they didn’t get sick from them. If only birds could read, Viv could have put a big sign to advertise her free bird feed. She waved her arms to stop and direct them, calling them fools for not knowing – but birds are being just what they are, bird brained this time. Wait till they broadcast it among their friends. That will be the day.

Everyone was alive Saturday morning! Everything was right with the world in that small four corners.

365 Project: Day 158

This entry was posted in Flowers, Photo Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Room with a view

  1. Vivien says:

    That was a fun, albeit tiring day at the garden, cleaning/cutting/pulling off all the dead branches, weeds, hate those creeping charlies, Lou and I worked at the garden from morning to early afternoon, with the hot sun, we have to spray some sun screen. Worked out a sweat, my arm hurts, lol. It was fun and good workout. There are more cleanup, then we are ready for a cookout!

    Like

  2. Sounds a wonderful day…but you started it at 5.30am! Gosh. Weather here not warm enough for lounging outside and we’ve been having heavy thundery downpours along with cool winds. Could do with some sun.

    Hope your tomato plants have perked up. We’ve planted basil and Greek basil, but not sure how they”ll fare.

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    Dorothy, the next day was a different story. It rained the night before and there was a chill in the early morning which went away later so I didn’t get to enjoy my coffee in the garden. My tomato plants has not gotten any better but my gourd are getting more leaves. I have Thai basil but I doubt if they will ever grow. LOL

    Like

  4. lolaWi says:

    Waking up early to work the yard shows your love for gardening! It must be really nice out there now. When do we come for BBQ? Lol

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    I believe the homeowner is planning her birthday party. I volunteered to work late every Friday so it is a challenge to do it on a Saturday.

    Like

  6. Amy says:

    What a gorgeous garden! Shows your love and passion for nature, Bebs!

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    Viv’s late husband set up the garden and worked hard on it for years. I just happen to love gardening so I help Viv maintain it and planted some vegetables in the process. Thanks Amy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

