A Word A Week: Delicate

African violet

African violet

This is my entry to Sue Lewellyn’s photo challenge of last week – Delicate.

From college, when I first saw my first African violets, I’ve always had trouble growing them. This plant is so delicate and it poses a challenge for me.

A couple of weeks ago, my friend and I bought some African violets for the home. She has three and I have a couple which I put by the window in the attic. I must have watered it too much because it has been almost a week and it is still moist. I know, I thought I watered it only enough but it looks like I overdid it.

My cousin has a lovely one at their house and hers has even multiplied and has numerous blooms. Once again I have taken the chance to see if I could be successful with them this time. Even my friend’s violets are doing better than mine and am jealous.

I know it does not like direct sunlight and it must not be wet. Any other tips you can give me I would gladly appreciate it.

365 Project: Day 172

This entry was posted in Day-to-day, Flowers, Photo Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Word A Week: Delicate

  1. Vivien says:

    Hmmm…that is my pretty fuschia African violets, they are thriving on my front porch!
    Nice pic, lou.

    Like

  2. lolaWi says:

    lovely! i bought african violets few years ago and they did not thrive well under my care. yes, they’re quite delicate. perfect for theme, B!

    Like

  3. Amy says:

    This one is beautiful! Love the color.

    Like

  4. I had trouble growing African violets too. They sure are delicate.Great choice and color for this theme. πŸ™‚ What bothered me the most was in winter time, tiny black bugs would surround them especially after the flowers had withered away. I gave up on African violets.

    Like

  5. Elizabeth says:

    It’s beautiful, I don’t have any tips, because I didn’t have luck with them either. Good Luck with yours.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    I hope it survives Viv, it is a rare color for an African violet, so pretty.

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    I am so fond of them but I don’t think it likes me. I must have killed several but they were on sale at Home Depot. I prefer them than cactus, even though they are much easier to care for.

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    I agree Amy. I should have grabbed it for myself. He he he

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    I was just about giving up on them too but I was tempted to try them again after I saw them on sale for 2 bucks each. Just one more time and let’s see. Maybe I need to buy those African violet fertilizer sticks.

    Like

  10. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Elizabeth. I think I should leave it alone and maybe it will survive.

    Like

  11. Good Luck. maybe that’s the trick. πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. bebs1 says:

    I think so too although I’ve taken more dead leaves, waterlogged I guess.

    Like

  13. viveka says:

    Congratulations, you’re half way through the challenge – nice job.
    St Paula we call this little lovely flower here in Sweden and it was my grandmother’s favorite window plant.

    Like

  14. bebs1 says:

    They are really perfect for window plants even though they are best without direct sun but they are also good for any kind of weather indoors. If only I could keep them long.

    Like

Leave a Reply

