Corn soup with bittermelon leaves

Ginisang mais with ampalaya leaves

Ginisang mais with ampalaya leaves

Corn soup reminds me of my mother, always. She loved to cook them during the summer when corn is in season and for a change in her menu.

It has become a favorite of mine too so when I chanced upon a great batch of corn at the local grocery store and the price was right, ten cents each, I grabbed them.

I had all the ingredients, dried shrimps in place of fresh shrimps and some frozen bitter melon leaves. The bitterness of the leaves serve as a good balance to the sweetness of the corn.

There were some left over grilled pork which I minced and added to the soup. Unlike corn chowder that calls for a thickener and cream, Filipino soups are almost always clear. A good chicken broth which I had in the pantry was a perfect base for this soup.

It is so simple to make and yet a great comfort food for me. Just one of the joys of summer.

365 Project: Day 197

This entry was posted in Food, My Core, Remembering Mom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Corn soup with bittermelon leaves

  1. arlene says:

    We had something like this for dinner tonight, fresh corn, carrots and sayote then stir fried them in butter tapos fried daing.

    Like

  2. lolaWi says:

    now i’m craving for corn soup 🙂 it’s one of my comfort food!

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    Do it now while the corn are at their peak.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Did you put any meat? Just pure veggies? All your vegetables are sweet it must have tasted wonderful.

    Like

  5. arlene says:

    Just pure veggies Lou!

    Like

  6. Sounds delicious! My comfort food that reminds me of my mother is pumpkin…..especially in winter.

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    Pumpkin is one of my favorite veggies too Janaline. It must be rich and creamy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

