Gardening in the city

Where we live is about 7 miles from the city. Very urbanized so residential lots are not as one would have farther away.

But am happy that even with a postage size garden I am able to plant some vegetables. I had many seedlings I propagated in late Spring so when they all came up, I was forced to fill the big flower pots sitting empty as they were getting so crowded.

When Benny (Viv’s late hubby) was still gardening, he planted beautiful dahlias there. But as you know they are annuals here in the Midwest’s Zone 5. The dahlias are gone so the pots came in handy. The problem with pot gardening is you have to water them everyday as they dry so much faster.

Today my Home Depot shopping list have these: pepper spray, fertilizer and more potting soil. The spray is for the squirrel who’s been helping himself to our eggplants. Two so far. I am keeping my fingers crossed that he doesn’t discover more to feast on or he’d have a buffet.

And oh, I need to replace the sprinkler. I accidentally dropped it on the cement and broke. I used to drop them a lot but I had a huge lawn then and it always fell on the grass so it had a soft landing, now I learned my lesson.

I have been saving all our kitchen scraps and pulled weeds and twigs for the decomposter. I still have to spread them in the garden.

I have been visiting the garden morning and afternoon. There’s a swing there and the other day I dozed off amongst the plant. Ever since I was a kid, I love the smell of the tomato plants when it brushes my nose, the gourd leaves smells like burnt rubber but it has very huge leaves, I screamed with delight the first time I saw its bloom yesterday.

There is one beefsteak tomato that we’re waiting to turn red and it is now so huge it will be a one-pounder. It has so many fruits that the plant keeps keeling over so yesterday I tied it to a tree, put stakes around the wire fence to keep it right because it is covering my two eggplants.

Viv gets so excited at every change she sees and I told her my happiness is many times over because I put them in the ground.

Got one more zuke to harvest and some Hungarian peppers. Can’t wait to have more to give away to friends and neighbors.

365 Project: Day 204

This entry was posted in Flowers, Food, Garden, My Core and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gardening in the city

  1. Vivien says:

    It is awesome to see the transformation of our garden with Lou’s robust veggie plants. I told her, up somewhere, late hubby Benny is looking down at his beloved garden now alive with the verdant color of Summer!

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    kitchen scraps are so good for the soil! Thanks for sharing your rewarding garden experience.

    Like

  3. What a nice garden, Bebs! I love the smell of tomato leaves too, 🙂

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Oh Lisa, thank you. I thought I am the only one who appreciates the tomato leaves aside from the sweet juicy fruits.

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    Yes Amy, it is my distresser. I just spent my early morning and in between watering I would sit down and reflect, imagining what I would want my garden to be when I go home to the Philippines and retire.

    Like

  6. lolaWi says:

    oh i agree Viv! someone up there is very happy. thanks, B!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

