Share Your World: Week 30

Mom

Mom

List 2 things you have to be happy about.

That I could count by the fingers of my feet and hands how many more months before I go home to the Philippines for good. That pretty soon suffering through Winter would be a choice.

That God has been good to me, giving me good health and my family too.

List at least 2 things in nature do you find most beautiful.

Untouched, untamed, unsullied by man and his commerce. I love it’s strength that no man can defeat. For awhile it would surrender but in the end it will triumph.

Show us a 2 of your favorites photographs. Explain why they are your favorite.

The photo above. That was the last photo before my mother was diagnosed of cancer. She and I loved Christmas mainly because her birthday was New Year’s Eve and mine falls on Three Kings. Our house was bedecked with Christmas decorations and trimmings we collected through the years, and since as a kid she always celebrated her birthday, her party of thanksgiving was a fitting prelude to the end of the holiday.

My paternal grandmother

My paternal grandmother

A memento of my grandmother. I was raised by very good and strong women. First there was her, my Auntie Caring (elder sister of my father), and when she passed away while I was second year in college, my Auntie Mayyang (who was the spinster sister of my grandma) pitched in. In the end, my Mom and I spent many years together here in the US. All the women before her had passed away. But whatever I am now, I owe it all to these four women.

If you are not a photographer (serious or otherwise), think of a two favorite scenes in your life and tell us about them.

photo1

This photo was taken after my grandfather retired as a government treasurer in Oriental Mindoro. I was with my siblings. He was my personal hero. A very principled man, educated, good looking, a man of few words and hard working.

louB11

This was me as a college student. I had an Argus camera then which my uncle loaned to me.

List 2 of your best personality traits.

Compassionate and am hoping my family would consider me generous.

365 Project: Day 206

This entry was posted in Family, My Core, Photo Challenge, Remembering Mom, Weekly Writing Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Share Your World: Week 30

  1. arlene says:

    I love your photos especially that of your mom and grandma. Good of you to have kept all these mementos thru the years.

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your photos with us. How special.

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    I could thank my cousin, Reggie, in San Diego Arlene. When he first went home he found the old photos in a wooden trunk deteriorating. He scanned the photos and later sent them to me. They are my treasures.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Cee.

    Like

  5. Amy says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your precious photos. Both your mother and grandmother are beautiful. I love the photo of you as a college student.

    Like

  6. lolaWi says:

    precious photos B! thanks for sharing!

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    Thank you for liking them.

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Amy! Those were the days!

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Arlene. I am searching for the photos I had with Mom during our vacations in Europe. I must have shipped them already to the Phils. With digital you get lazy processing them but most of our pictures then were on film. Good thing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

