August Lily

Hosta plantaginea Aphrodite

Hosta plantaginea Aphrodite

This plant is so easy to ignore. It is plain and simple looking compared to the other hostas. But it is one of my favorites.

You can just imagine my excitement when I saw this at the corner outside of the fence. I was pretty sure Vivien did not know what it was. It’s fragrance is heady – like honeysuckle.

I wish it was overgrown for subdividing and I would plant them all over the backyard. But it probably needs a couple more years. I think it will finally get extra attention from me from now on. I just left the front yard under Viv’s care never really examining what else are out there.

Can you imagine how great to sit on the swing on a warm night, while you watch the moon and the stars, envelope in the fragrance of this August Lily and white phlox?

I am hoping Viv will have a better appreciation of the plants in her garden after I’ve gone home to the Philippines.

365 Project: Day 214

This entry was posted in 9 to 5, Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to August Lily

  1. Vivien says:

    We had those hostas for 5 years and did not know they bear flowers, sure is a beautiful, fragrant flower, will pay more attention to the plants, love all the flowers in our garden, actually, I bought all of them and my late hubby planted them around. Thanks Lou for the discovery of this beautiful flower.

    Like

  2. lolaWi says:

    what a discovery! our dama de noche is abloom and so is the while phlox! hope it doesn’t rain tonight! 🙂

    Like

  3. Love its fragrance! 🙂

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Me too, it is still in the vase still looking very fresh.

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    Viv does not have a dama de noche anymore but I think her friend Tess is going to give her a double sampaguita (jasmine).

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    If you water it enough, they will grow faster.

    Like

  7. Good for you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

