Asian long beans and squash in coconut milk (Ginataang sitaw and squash)

Ginataang sitaw

Ginataang sitaw

Tess' Asian long beans

Tess’ Asian long beans

Viv’s friend saved us some some Asian long beans or what we call sitaw in Filipino, from her garden last weekend. Didn’t get a chance to cook it until today. Viv wanted it in coconut milk so she went to pick up squash and shrimps to go with it.

I added some Hungarian peppers picked from our garden. Not a necessary ingredient but only because we have it.

My Asian long beans are just now starting to bloom. Am sure in two weeks’ time we can get some for our consumption or we might just get some from Tess again. No, just joking!

I added a lot of Thai dried peppers thinking they are no longer as potent but the dish got really hot, not bad hot but just right for my Asian palate.

Good thing Viv and I share our love of savory food cooked in coconut milk. It just calls for a lot of rice and this is of no exception. I can’t wait for my hot peppers to bear fruits so I could make a pepper dish in coconut cream called “Bicol Express.”

365 Project: Day 215

This entry was posted in Day-to-day, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Asian long beans and squash in coconut milk (Ginataang sitaw and squash)

  1. Amy says:

    I like Asian long beans. This dish looks so yuumy!!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    It is so easy to make. Saute garlic, onions and ginger. To season use salted shrimp fry (or bagoong alamang). Once sauteed, add two cans of (unsweetened coconut milk) until it thickens, then add the 1″ cubed squash. Let it simmer until almost cooked. Add the long beans and shrimps on top. I also added a dash of black pepper and if you want it hot, hot Asian peppers or slice jalapeno. We had about 2 pounds of beans and I used half of a small squash. I favor the Japanese squash (kabocha) when I cook.

    One can also use pork instead of shrimps too. If pork, you have to cook it first in small amount of water until fat is rendered then you san saute the rest of the ingredients in about 2 tbsps. of pork fat.

    Like

  3. Amy says:

    Thank you so much for taking time to write the recipe for me. I’m going to prepare this dish weekend if I can get the long beans. You never know what you can get from this small local Asian store. I like spicy Asian food 🙂 Thank you again, Bebs!
    Happy weekend 🙂

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    You can substitute green beans.

    Like

Leave a Reply

