Surplus tomatoes

DSC_0326Our neighbor, Shirley, gave us so much tomatoes this week and a cucumber. She said she has so much she didn’t know what to do so she offered us some even though she knew that we have planted tomatoes. Viv said we’ll give it to my sister but my BIL cannot eat fresh tomatoes because he’s watching his potassium level.

I had an idea though. Remember I have been talking about Calabrese salad? But I didn’t get a chance to get some fresh mozzarella.

However, we have left over Mexican bolillos. They have remained soft even after so many days so they were perfect for panzanella unlike a French baguette that gets rock hard the next day. From the Farmers’ Market two weeks ago, we bought red onions and candy onions.

I brought home a half pint of some very good vinaigrette dressing.

It was no brainer, we had all (almost) the ingredients for a good panzanella.

I cut bread into 1″ cubes, sprinkled some olive oil, freshly ground black pepper, finely minced garlic, tossed around and toasted in the oven. I put it in 325 deg. F. until it hardened. This I did while doing something else. So easy!

I also added some Parmesan cheese before serving.

Invited Aunt Remy for lunch, reheated some Shanghai lumpia (cocktail eggrolls – next time I make them I will post the recipe), some pretzel rolls and butter and it turned out to be a filling lunch.

The tomatoes were at their peak – so sweet and juicy that it made the dressing pink and just delectable to the last drop.

There are now two beefsteak tomatoes ripening in the vine so today I will get the fresh mozzarella or feta cheese and a can of anchovies maybe. Looking ahead to more salad days.

365 Project: Day 216

This entry was posted in Food, Friendships, Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Surplus tomatoes

  1. megtraveling says:

    That really looks delicious!

    Like

  2. Think I’ll be trying that.

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    Megtraveling – it was so simple and delicious. The only “hard part” was toasting the bread but that one wasn’t really hard.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    jingsandthings, buy the English cucumber. I used the regular one as it was given by a neighbor but cored it. And for further shortcut, you can use your favorite vinaigrette. I love the sweet creamy kind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

