My two besties

Viv and Wilma

Viv and Wilma

Even as a I meet new friends like Viveka (I can’t find your blog to link here, have you been missing for awhile?) and her friend Anna Liisa, through the years I have collected a number of very good friends. I have a bestie for every occasion and in far flung places so don’t get jealous if I don’t mention you here.

Viv and Wilma are my two besties outside work. We spend a lot of fun times together especially on weekends. We get together for no reason at all. I have known both of them for as long as I have been in America. Though they are not the longest on record, they are the ones I am constantly with because we live in the same city.

Yesterday morning I saw something on FB that thrilled me. A photo of a flamenco guitarist and dancer looked so promising. I told Viv that after taking Viveka to the airport, we would proceed to the Chicago Botanical Garden. I asked Wilma if she would like to go and she immediately replied. We might not all have the same interests but we do respect our differences.

It turned out that I was dead wrong about the location. The event was being held at the Morton Arboretum instead. Even though the garden was extraordinarily busy which I thought was because of the event, it turned out the throng were just there to enjoy the place.

We had lunch at their cafeteria and then LolaWi and I ventured out to the garden to take photos. She has a new camera and she was excited to practice using it before her coming adventure. I was dissapointed myself but decided to make the best of the situation.

Viv, Jun and TJ hang out at the deck. Later I joined them as the sun was just too bright for any good pictures anyway like we were in our own backyard.

I did apologize for my error but they all just shrugged it off. They were just too happy not to pay the stiffer entrance at the Morton Arboretum but that would have been a better photo opportunity for me and LolaWi.

How lucky I am that my friends didn’t sulk at what happened. Viv especially since she was looking forward to seeing a flamenco in person and LolaWi wanting to see some dance actions. For Viv it was tampered down by meeting Viveka and Anna Liisa and LolaWi just making lemonade out of a lemon.

As usual, I covered my bad with food. I really liked their gourmet offerings at the Garden’s cafeteria.

An excellent vegan calzone

An excellent vegan calzone

Thanks guys!

365 Project: Day 234

This entry was posted in Chicago, Friendships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My two besties

  1. Amy says:

    ” …get together for no reason”, how wonderful πŸ™‚ The vegan calzone looks so delicious!

    Like

  2. Vivien says:

    sometimes the best laid plans goes awry…I always say..”.it is not where you are..it is who you are with that matters!”

    Like

  3. Vivien says:

    The vegan calzone is super delish and the crisp salad!!

    Like

  4. lolaWi says:

    viv said it all. love being featured in here! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    Amy, their cafeteria serves excellent food. As Viv said the calzone was very good – it had portabella mushrooms, red pepper and surprisingly it was spicy – hot. I’d order it again next time but I was eyeing my neighbor’s and it looked like she had an excellent salad I would like to try too.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    I agree. It was a good choice.

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    My pleasure! Honored to have friends like you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

