Lisbon in b/w

022_21A

It’s been quite awhile since my only visit in Portugal with my friend, Cecile, that I could no longer recall the name of this park.

I remember taking the public bus in getting here, on top of the mountain. It is an old fort and from there one can enjoy a nice view of Lisbon. Maybe someone could tell me the name of this park.

We really enjoyed our tour of Portugal. The people were very friendly and very kind, anywhere we went. I could not forget arriving in Obidos when the restaurant at the Castelo de Obidos at almost closing time and yet the chef was able to come up with a sumptuous dinner for me and my friend. The same thing in Lisbon. The hotel didn’t serve dinner but it was almost midnight so the staff prepared a generous amount of breakfast sandwiches for us.

This was before GPS came into existence and also I kept being distracted by so many signs of places to see which were all very well-marked. One time I wanted to see this historical palace on top of the mountain and when I asked for directions, a grandfather and his son led us there in their car.

One afternoon, we made a brief stop in Cascais for dinner but way too early. I told the owner of the restaurant that I wanted some grilled sardines. I didn’t realize that he went himself to the market to pick some to cook. Wow, I was really impressed with the Portuguese. I have never met such accommodating people in all my travels.

My friend and I promised ourselves to go back sometime in Portugal but never got around to it. Maybe when work has ceased being in the way, we can go back there and see the ones we missed.

This is my third entry to the B/W meme in Facebook. This time I would like to tag Sergio.

365 Project: Day 270

This entry was posted in Photo Challenge, Vacation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lisbon in b/w

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    I think you are speaking of Sao Jprge Castle. We loved Lisbon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amy says:

    I like this photo. I hope to see Portugal in the near future 🙂

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    That’s it Sue! I love the country as a whole and its people!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bebs1 says:

    You won’t regret it Amy. They are the nicest people and just as many historical places.

    Like

  5. lolaWi says:

    i have good memories of lisbon especially its people. they are warm, friendly and nice.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Am glad we have the same impressions lolaWi!

    Like

Leave a Reply

