Breakfast with M

Am a breakfast person. This is one meal that I never skip. I could miss lunch or dinner but my day starts with breakfast – coffee and a toast and when on vacation something more substantial – depends on where I am.

M was my co-worker at my part-time 5 years ago until she moved on. And then I moved around too – jobs and residence – so many things changed and so finally on Saturday we managed to squeeze some time from both our busy schedules.

Meeting place was Egg Harbor Cafe. It was ideal because she lives nearby and I used the pass the place before when I would catch my commuter train there.

I didn’t realize how long ago that was. There were so many one-way streets and trying to figure out how to get to the restaurant was a challenge. And then for a Sunday, parking was difficult. I remember Downers Grove used to be a ghost town on weekends when commuters were absent and the shops were closed early in the morning.

I think what made the difference was in the short span of 5 years several condominium buildings have sprung up. With the express commuter train depot there – the location is prime. It is a hop to go to the city.

Anyway, it was lovely seeing Mary again and her family. Her family came later when we were just about finished so it was nice to see her husband and daughter who’s visiting with her son. They are a very nice family and M and I had a lot of catching up to do.

Mary looked wonderful and her positive outlook in life shone through. Don’t you love to be with people like that?

Am not big on sweet things for breakfast, I almost always favor savory things. Must be because I grew up eating fried rice for breakfast. The cafe offered so many choices I was ambivalent so many times, going back and forth on so many items. In the end I had a 3-egg omelet with bacon, sausage, cheese and all the good things thrown in.

Just home cooking, our omelettes were excellent and plentiful with Intelligentsia coffee.

After our visits, I went to see a dear family friend who’s leaving for her sabbatical to the Philippines. Again am jealous that she would be skipping the Polar Vortex but the warm humid weather would be better for her.

In all I must have had 5 cups of coffee all day and to my surprise, I say that because am normally more careful with my caffeine intake, I didn’t get any sleep at all. It is almost mid-day and am still wired.

I should swear not to drink coffee again next time I have a delightful breakfast and great companies like that.

This entry was posted in Flowers, Food, Friendships. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Breakfast with M

  1. Nice pics and the omelette looks so delish. Always a fun time to get together with friends you have not seen/talked with in a while.

    Like

  2. Great photos, cute kid; five cups? Wow! lol

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    I know Dawn. I swear not to buy Dunkin donut coffee again. It was very strong plus the last cup was at 5 pm.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    We should go there one time. Really great. They also have sandwiches.

    Like

  5. Amy says:

    5 cups of coffee, really… I like Dunkin donut coffee 🙂 Beautiful photos, Bebs!

    Like

  6. Oooooo…lol, ah well live and learn, even at our age!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Rather like Scandinavian breakfasts where you have lots of different breads, cold meats and cheeses – that’s when on holiday. At home, I settle for coffee, though if going out and starting early I often add a slice of bread and jam or cheese.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. bebs1 says:

    I like a full breakfast too though I haven’t tried a Scandinavian breakfast. I like the ones I’ve had in Europe though especially their version of bacon or what they call rashers. American bacon is just fatty and in the Philippines we picked up from the Americans.

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    Hi Amy! My first try of Dunkin – very strong for my taste. I now decline offers for coffee after my normal big cup in the morning.

    Like

  10. mihrank says:

    wow – amazing post – this brings our day with positive energy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

