Travel theme challenge: Golden

Looking at the pictures taken during my Monterey vacation, which was golden in itself as I get to check off my list some things I’ve always wanted to see, like the old Spanish mission churches.

Here are my entries to Ailsa of Where’s My Backpack Travel Theme Challenge for the week: Golden. To see more go here.

Some of them were ornate although some were done crudely and simply.

Here's an altar at a mini-chapel in the Carmel Mission

Here’s an altar at a mini-chapel in the Carmel Mission

We also visited the mission church in San Juan de Bautista, still in the Monterey County. But for this challenge, I found some golden-hued plates being sold at a gift shop.

Dinner set

Dinner set

And don’t you just love this image? I thought the gold frame goes very well with the painting. This was in an antique store.

Mexican scene

Mexican scene

This entry was posted in California, Churches, Photo Challenge, Vacation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Travel theme challenge: Golden

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    Such ornate framing of the altar in the first photo. Definitely a perfect choice for the theme of golden.

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Thank you Sue. Old Spanish churches favored gold more. Reminds us of the wealth of the church then.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. restlessjo says:

    Beautiful images, Bebs! I would have loved to see some of those missions. I missed my chance when I was in the States many years ago.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    I think there’s a lot more around the LA/San Diego area. They have some of the more significant ones like the San Juan de Capistrano, also one in San Diego and Oceanside. Many are close to Sta. Barbara. Good excuse for you Jo to return.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Dawn! Merry Christmas to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

