Winter in Berwyn

Berwynblizzard
Berwyn lies in the periphery of the City of Chicago but along with Cicero, is more densely populated.

Residences are required to have a garage or a carport and the annual city sticker is discounted by $10 if you park there. But most people have more than two cars so the streets are always full and those stickers are required if you have to park overnight or you get a ticket.

Street parking is never a problem. We don’t have a designated parking space but as long as you don’t park overnight way out of the way you are safe. Like during the workweek, I park close to my train station, you just have to be mindful of the street cleaning day. Naturally you cannot park in that street on that day.

But when the snow is of blizzard proportion like what happened Sunday night, it creates a big mess. I’ve seen in the newspapers how residents leave chairs, 30-gallon garbage bins, old and other odd items to reserve their parking spot. I’ve lived in Berwyn for a year now and for a couple of years I also lived in Niles where we parked in the street and I’ve never experienced a tighter competition for space until now.

My friend and I had to go out there on Sunday to shovel the snow that covered the front and back porches. At one point, the snow drift shut our front door. Along with other neighbors, we dug up our cars in preparation to Monday. Some people who worked in schools didn’t bother to clean their cars and parking area at all. And by Monday morning, we had 19 inches of snow.

Maybe some people thought it will warm enough for the snow to melt. And even though I was able to clean the surroundings of my car that made me confident enough to go to work on Tuesday, the city snow plow just eventually managed to put them all back and I had to do some more digging. My shoulders, arms and left hand hurt from all that exercise.

Our next door neighbor who didn’t do anything at all had to chisel the snow which turned hard on Tuesday night so his mother could park.
winterberwyn
Tuesday morning I was able to go to work and then saw people were leaving old furniture to stake their spot. I told my friend to do the same and she thought I was joking. It was not until four teenagers whom she paid to dig up her car who told her to do the same that she did. She also sat by our front door to watch if a driver would grab the space.

By Wednesday, life was starting to go back to normal but at the end of the street I noticed many didn’t clear their front so I drove back to put some items in my vacated space.  The above photo was my neighbor’s space.

But today the city is going to clear our street of snow. Hopefully there would be enough parking for everybody tonight that we don’t have to do this again.

Until next year.

This entry was posted in Chicago, Day-to-day. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Winter in Berwyn

  1. Now that our side of the street is clean, I will still put the garden tables to preserve the space for Lou when she comes home tonite, the people from the other side of the street might take advantage of the clean street to park their cars on our side…No way!!!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    I think parking should be fine Viv. You don’t want to be ticketed by the city unless the neighbors are doing the same.

    Like

  3. It’s funny to see your summery cover photo, then stumble upon this first post. Thanks for sharing.. 7 more weeks til Spring!

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Actually, I wish am still in California and not dealing with the snow here in the Midwest. Thank you for the dropping by and the comment. Have a nice weekend!

    Like

  5. Heartafire says:

    I adore Chicago, but the weather is not for sissies 🙂 , lovely photographs.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    You are so right there Heartafire. Everytime we have a weather like this, I tip my hat to the first people who survived it, the Indians and the pioneers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

