Bonding over food

Today was spent with my two sisters.

It started with my youngest sister with a trip to the Vietnamese market at Argyle very early in the morning. She did some marketing and then we proceeded to our other sister’s apartment.

M prepared congee, pork and tofu dish, and some fish balls with home made dips for lunch while the baby sister marinated her adobo.

I took a nap and woke up when M said she was hungry again by 2 pm. Congee is a very light lunch so we all agreed some Filipino noodle dish would be nice.

They went to pick up some cooked noodles at the Filipino store while I continued my nap. We had a late snack when they returned. Now I don’t want to move as I am stuffed like a pig. Even my plan to prepare a couple of dishes for lunch for the week didn’t happen. I was exhausted from work all week and waking up early on a Saturday.

We had fun even though all we did was cook, eat and just lazed around, watched some corny Philippine shows on tv. Same thing we would have done if our mother was still around as she would have cooked up a storm the day before to feed us.

Am grateful that we all have time to be together on weekends, especially now that this is my last year in the US. So when they ask me if am free on a Saturday, I try to make time for them. Definitely these days are special for us.

Our family bonds very well in the presence of comfort foods our mother used to prepare for us. Just like today.

This entry was posted in Family, My Core and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bonding over food

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    Looks delicious and a special time together.

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Oh my, it is difficult to lose weight in my family, we all love food Sue.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bebs1 says:

    Thank you Benji!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Benji Martin says:

    You’re welcome. Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

