Life in Suburbia: April 10, 2015

Friday was my day off as I have set two doctors’ visit. I left the house early and came home around seven but glad that I accomplished a lot in one day, including dining with one of my closest friends and some shopping.

DSC_0088
First stop was at the cleaners to get a pair of pants hemmed. Couldn’t believe that despite the name it is owned by an Asian. Why should I be surprised. Nothing against it, the gentleman was very nice, polite and gracious as he should be owning a customer service establishment.

DSC_0089

It’s been a week after Easter. I bet they are waiting for Mother’s Day to change it. Although they have kept the Rosicky name, who I supposed was the original owner. Would they want to keep the bunnies and the eggs till they multiply? Bunnies don’t lay eggs, they’re waiting for the bunny to get pregnant and the eggs to hatch, I mean.

DSC_0091

At the hospital with Lydia.

DSC_0092

DSC_0094

A stop at Penzey’s for some Five-Spice powder and found they have epazote too. No, not the one below.

DSC_0093

DSC_0096

From there we went to Anyway’s Bar & Grill.

DSC_0095

I want to be made-up like that. Wouldn’t you? Actually I want to join the Carnivale in Venice this lifetime.

Lydia ordered a burrito bowl (in a ceramic bowl, it would have been more fun in a fried tortilla bowl) . . .

DSC_0097

. . . while of course I ordered the grilled fish tacos. I’ve been complaining that I haven’t had a fish taco worth the money I paid in any restaurants I’ve been to and she told me this place is the answer to my prayers. And yes it did!

DSC_0098

And the rice came with my favorite black beans. My friends from the Philippines used to send me a couple of kilos of those beans through people traveling here, risking being fined by the US Customs before the carrier got into his senses and said I should just look them at the produce stores.

DSC_0099

From there to Nordstrom Rack. Never been a fan of the store. The first time I went there the tags were way over my budget. But the shoes . . . oh the shoes, they were soft and well-fitted to my rugged feet but still outrageous. Look!

DSC_0101

Can you ever walk in those shoes? I’d order a walker first before I wear them. Seriously! Or have the paramedics on standby.

DSC_0102

Florals are the in-thing again. Love these boots! They didn’t have them in my size.

Off to my next appointment.

DSC_0104

We were there an hour early and they called me right away.

So back to Lydia’s for dinner this time. First I took a nap in her living room. Feeling very at home.

DSC_0106

When I woke up, Mr. Lou has prepared a sumptuous pork chop dish using fennel. Maybe I should look for some fennel recipes. Never tried using them myself before.

DSC_0107

The meat was delicious, tender and fragrant from the spice.

After hitting Target and Petsmart, it was time to go home. It was a great day, thanks to the Thompsons!

This entry was posted in 9 to 5, Friendships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life in Suburbia: April 10, 2015

  1. lolaWi says:

    i had first fish taco in crystal cove and it didn’t disappoint! the pork chop dish looks yumm!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    The fish taco is really very easy to make. Yes the pork chop was delicious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

