New doughnut place

DSC_0062The Doughnut Vault is fairly new.  I’ve read good things about it so I was planning of picking some donuts this weekend.

This morning I caught the earlier train so I thought to make a side trip and find this place to make it easier for me when I go on Saturday. It is not that far of a diversion on my way to work and finding it was easy even though it is inside the 111 North Canal Building.  I was expecting to see a long line so I was prepared to give myself some extra 15 minutes but when I got there the place wasn’t that crowded.  In fact the Dunkin Donuts stall at Union Station has more crowd than this one. Maybe because Dunkin is convenient, it is right in the station while this one is in a building across Ogilvie Station. And besides Dunkin is cheaper.

But that’s okay.  Not everybody wants a crowd.  Like me. Actually I like that there’s not too many people because you can really enjoy your donut and coffee there in peace.  Their donuts are fresh and sweet – it actually calls for a cup of very strong black coffee.
IMG_0433
IMG_0434
IMG_0420
IMG_0436
IMG_0437

I have a feeling I’ve met my dose of sugar allowance for the week today so maybe I will do that donut drive another time. I had the coconut creme today, it was creamy and delicate. Next time I would pick the other flavors and stay for coffee too.

This entry was posted in 9 to 5, Battling the bulge, Chicago, Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New doughnut place

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    Mmmmm looks delicious!

    Like

  2. restlessjo says:

    I’ve just finished my evening meal. Maybe a little later 🙂

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    It was, but very sweet. My friend just reminded me that they’re donuts – so they should be sweet. LOL

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Oh hi Jo! You might want to wait for breakfast for this with a black coffee.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

