Five Photos/Five Stories – #1 Tapas Crawl in Madrid

Lou 2

This is deviating from my weekly norm of sharing with you some of my current stories and some photo challenges.

Simply Beautiful has nominated me to join this challenge of Five Photos/Five Stories.

This first photo was taken when a Spanish friend, Elisa, who was studying in Chicago invited me for a tapas crawl in Madrid. She happened to go home for vacation and I was vacationing in Spain that year. In my previous trips to Spain I’ve always enjoyed their various main dishes bypassing the tapas. Spanish cuisine is not strange to Filipinos as we have been a Spanish colony for 333 years. But I think tapas are more enjoyable when done with friends accompanied with wine or pitchers of Sangria as proven by my first experience.

Even though I hardly spoke their language and Elisa’s friend’s English were as poor as my Spanish, we had a great denominator for the night – food. They were all very friendly, hospitable and accommodating, showing me the night life in their city.

They knew Madrid very well and brought me to the best places to indulge in this very Spanish tradition. Very young, they knew the trendiest places for tapas. A tapas crawl is a good learning experience for anyone who’s new to the culture. So many little dishes in one night, the variations so numerous, the melding of ingredients result in explosive flavors beyond your imagination.

That tapas crawl taught me a greater appreciation of Spanish cuisine, culture and the people. After that vacation, I’ve shared what I learned with my family and friends. We’d frequent a tapas bar close to work for lunch and on weekends I’d bring my family. It’s been a while since I’ve last done that but I found a great Spanish restaurant that’s been below the radar of many. Time to do it soon again.

My friend Elisa is now a CPA, happily married with two beautiful children in Chicago. She remains to be my friend although lately we just follow each other in FB.

Elisa is in the middle, front row

Elisa is in the middle, front row

Rules: โ€œPost a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challengeโ€.

My first nomination is Ompong of Photo ni Ompong.

This entry was posted in Friendships, Photo Challenge, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Five Photos/Five Stories – #1 Tapas Crawl in Madrid

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    Looks like a fun way to try new food and make new friends!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    It really is Sue. Am an early sleeper but doing the tapas crawl is like going to many different parties in one night.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lolaWi says:

    thanks for joining, B! sounds like a fun night in madrid ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. viveka says:

    Great entry, Bebs …. and a lovely story. About feast, friendship and togetherness – plus plenty of joy. Brilliant entry.

    Like

  5. Amy says:

    Thank you so much for sharing the story and the precious friendship with us. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. restlessjo says:

    What lovely smiling faces ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    It was and I was glad that I had that experience. Now I could be a pro tapas crawler. LOL

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Viveka. Spain is my favorite country, maybe we should meet there in the years to come.

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Amy! You meet friends in so many ways – that was a great way and I really had a wonderful time.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. bebs1 says:

    Or could you tell we’ve had too much Sangria by then?

    Like

  11. restlessjo says:

    Absolutely not! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. viveka says:

    That sounds like a great idea to me … I been to Barcelona a couple of times … Madrid is high up on my bucket list and Anna-Liisa’s too.

    Like

  13. bebs1 says:

    I’d like to go back to Barcelona and there’s always something to see in Madrid.

    Like

  14. viveka says:

    Yes, I have heard to much great reviews about Madrid … have to do it next year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

