Five Photos/Five Stories: #3 – A confession

IMG_0504

Manny Pacquiao, the great boxer from the Philippines, is everywhere. To my surprise, even in New York. Of course before his big fight on May 2nd he was everyone’s favorite to win over Mayweather. Everyone who’s ever interested in boxing.

I’ve never been a fan of boxing so you can just imagine I could not care less if he wins or not then. Everyone said there was too much hype to that bout. But most Filipinos believe that he won and that Mayweather cheated. I bet you if Manny won, no American would say he played dirty over Mayweather nor any Filipino in his right mind would claim that he wasn’t the better fighter.

Anyway when asked I told people I was actually betting against his opponent. Did that make me unpatriotic? I don’t know much about the sport but it’s easy to conclude that Mayweather got a big chance of defeating him. He was undefeated in his career and he’s a bigger man. Manny was counting on his swiftness and since he’s short, they say he moves real fast.

Everyone I know, even my friends, partied and watched him on tv. I didn’t. I slept through it to wake up with a message from my sisters that Manny lost. They secretly rooted for my man, not wanting to annoy their husbands or they might get blamed for the loss. We Filipinos are superstitious that way or we find every excuse when we lose.

Both boxers are now several millions richer. Great pay for about half an hour dancing around in a boxing ring. One friend said it was just a show, couldn’t believe that no one bled at all. Many of the spectators were disappointed and heartbroken.

For me, am glad it is over.

*****

This is the third of Five Photos/Five Stories. Thanks to Simply Beautiful for nominating me.

I would like to nominate Frizztext of Flickr Comments. Frizztext loves music and plays the guitar. I once followed his weekly challenge A to Z but I was lost for words when it came to some letters like x and z’s. But he tells very engaging stories when he does.

Rules: “Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”.

This entry was posted in Photo Challenge, Weekly Writing Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Five Photos/Five Stories: #3 – A confession

  1. prior says:

    what a cool story for day 3 – and the fight was big news – and I recall seeing the “jet jams” as the big celebs landed to watch the flight – this was such a big social events – and to read you your slept through – anyhow, I also like the hennessy ad –

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Manny is a celebrity and he’s one of a few Filipinos whose popularity has crossed-over race wise. But boxing is not my thing, it is too brutal.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lolaWi says:

    i am not a fan of boxing either but partied! didn’t really watch the game but i was there for the fun 🙂

    Like

  4. Amy says:

    A well-written story, Bebs! Wonderful take on. 🙂

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    I got several invitations too but I couldn’t be bothered. Not worth losing my sleep.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Amy! Manny is the Philippine pride, it was almost unacceptable among Filipinos to root for Mayweather. I should have made a bet and I would have been rich by now. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lola Jane says:

    Have you seen the Manny and pistachio nut commercial? I am happy to see his appeal crossover, even if I don’t like to watch boxing. Great post, and good to know I’m not the only one that passed up watching the fight.

    Like

  8. Sue Slaght says:

    I must say I am not a fan of boxing either. A good story and well written.

    Like

  9. prior says:

    I agree – too brutal for me as well –

    Like

  10. bebs1 says:

    Thanks for dropping by Lola Jane. No, I haven’t seen the commercial at all.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Pistachios and the Manny Pacquiao ad | Lola Jane's World

  12. Lola Jane says:

    Maybe it was just a regional ad… It really is good to see Manny Pacquiao reach this level of popularity so I’ve posted it on my site, along with some information on pistachios 🙂 http://lolako.com/pistachios-and-the-manny-pacquiao-ad/ and prompted by your post, so thank you! 🙂

    Like

  13. restlessjo says:

    Thank goodness someone felt the same! I switched channels whenever it came on the news 🙂

    Like

  14. bebs1 says:

    Good for you Jo. I couldn’t imagine boxing to be of general interest worldwide except maybe for the roller-dealers in Vegas and the general population in the Philippines. I bet a lot of people lost big bucks because now Manny is facing several lawsuits after he announced that he wasn’t 100% healthy during the fight.

    Like

  15. bebs1 says:

    Thank you, I will watch that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

