Off to the Farmers’ Market

Farmers’ Market here in the Chicago-area starts after the Memorial holiday. And today, my friend Ginger and I drove to the Mt. Prospect one. Here‘s an entry to our first trip there.

It rained hard before I left the house but stopped and cleared by ten. Anyway we planned that if it rains or if the market has not started yet, we would have coffee at the bakery where they sell our favorite cinnamon roll. However the market in Oakton in Skokie has not started yet so Ginger drove to Mt. Prospect instead.

I guess it is still too early for produce so the number of booths were scarce. There were several stalls for strawberries and they smelled of the ripe fruit – sweet! They were tiny and more expensive than the huge ones they sell at the groceries but whatever it lacked, made it up by its freshness and superior flavor.

Our favorite bakery does not have a stand there but I found the French nuns who bake pastries to feed the Chicago homeless. In the past we’ve bought their apple tart whenever we see these roving nuns and they are really excellent but am watching my sugar. Had the French macarons instead. They are not Laduree, Arnaud or Pierre Herme but okay, I satisfied my craving.

Then we had lunch at Naf Naf – a Middle Eastern fast food. I ordered a chicken and steak swarma combo in a bowl with rice and Ginger had falafel. It was tasty, healthy and well-balanced.

Macarons for dessert.

We ended the day with tea at her house and more visits. I wanted also to see her cat Midnight but she’s been shy.

DSC_0199

DSC_0200

The rain stopped eventually although it threatened with the dark clouds and a radio warning for thurderstorm and twisters in Northern/Eastern Indiana.

I only made a quick stop at my sister’s then hurried home as I didn’t want to be caught in the storm.

This entry was posted in Flowers, Food, Friendships, Midwest. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Off to the Farmers’ Market

  1. RMW says:

    I love my local farmers market… luckily it is year round selling seasonal produce. Enjoyed the photos.

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Thank you for dropping by. It is seasonal here in the Midwest, you are so lucky to have it year round. You must live in CA.

    Like

  3. Sue Slaght says:

    Wonderful images that you have captured. a lovely outing.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Sue! If it wasn’t cloudy with threats of rain we could have gone to the botanical garden too but it was still a nice outing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lolaWi says:

    it’s really fun going to farmer’s market. don’t they have one by willis?

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    I am not sure if they still have that, but that was very small. Better at City hall on Thursday or by the post office on Thursday.

    Like

  7. restlessjo says:

    Oh, my goodness! I should have saved this post for a day when I was very, very hungry 🙂 🙂

    Like

  8. megtraveling says:

    That looks like a fun day with a nice variety of fruit, vegetables and baked goods. Farmers markets are great!

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    It could have made it worse Jo.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. bebs1 says:

    They are and I love looking at what they have. But I’ve seen better Farmers Markets in Europe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

