More time for golf

A former boss of mine had his retirement party on Tuesday. He retired as a Deputy Vice Chair in our firm. He was with the firm for 39 years, starting right out of college. It is a great run when one finishes a career with the same company especially if you’ve gone through the ranks. Such is the case with MS.

His dinner was well attended by his family, colleagues including myself. At first I hesitated to go because the only other assistant he had in the company refuses to participate in any firm’s events after work but I promised him that I would at this one after I couldn’t attend his 60th birthday a few months back.

Glad I did, not only because I highly respect him as a person, he was a great boss but also in attendance were my other former bosses who are now in retirement. Many of them are snowbirds and are back here to enjoy the milder climate. It was truly heartwarming to see them once again before I myself retire thus giving me an opportunity to catch up with them and say my goodbye.

I haven’t seen most of them after they left the firm so it was so touching when they and even their wives would tell me their appreciation of my contribution to their past career. It was my own reward after all those years when I myself doubted at times if I had given them my best.

Going back to MS, everyone was in awe of how great a person the honoree was, as a peer and as a family person. They were all in agreement how brilliant he was and I myself could attest to that. When I was his assistant, everyone dreaded consulting or having him review their audits, only because he was so sharp everyone got out of his office “bloodied” as the auditors would love to say. He was the firm’s brightest audit technical person. He’s the go to person when there were challenging auditing issues.

As a boss, he’s a joy to work with. I enjoyed working with him and was grateful that I was well prepared to meet his high expectations. He was one who was very generous to give credit where it was due. In fact I treasure my reviews from him as he was effusive in his praises and so detailed, unlike others who just rate you high without enough explanation that you sometimes feel underappreciated.

My service with him was cut short when my boss of 30 years came back from his stint overseas but I remained as his EA’s backup.

It was a lovely evening. It’s been raining almost all week but even the weather cooperated.

Now that he’s passed on his responsibilities to the younger partners and retired his brief case, he’s ready to hit the fairways for more golf. His children gifted him a set of wooden golf clubs to replace his old irons. And his beautiful wife is also looking forward to more travels.

An excellent way to end an illustrious career.

Photos were taken with my iPhone.

This entry was posted in 9 to 5, At the Zoo, Friendships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to More time for golf

  1. arlene says:

    I am sure you are also excited about your own retirement. How many more years Lou?

    Like

  2. lolaWi says:

    straight from college in one company says a lot! congratulations! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    You mean, how many months Arlene!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bebs1 says:

    I know. Most of the partners here have that history. It is only now that they are hiring more people with experience from other companies.

    Like

  5. Amy says:

    Working for a boss like Mark must be a great rewarding experience! So wonderful to hear about your contributions, Bebs! πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Oh I wish most bosses were like him although most of them were all very good to work with. But he was the only one who’s given me an evaluation that every reviewee could only dream of. Lengthy and super-appreciative. Of course the others show their appreciation in other ways. Perhaps they have difficulty with words unlike MS.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Amy says:

    Very few bosses would go through the trouble to write lengthy evaluations. I’m so sure you deserve every words of your evaluation.

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    That’s why he’s so special. Thank you Amy for your kind words, I would like to think that.

    Like

  9. pab45 says:

    Very nice

    Like

  10. bebs1 says:

    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

