Taste of Brasil

DSC_0213Should I say I love Brazilian food, even though I’ve only experienced their grilled meat in the local churrascharias? I am a meat person but I’d take seafood, fish and vegetables first if they are there. I am an adventurous eater, not limiting myself to one ethnic favorites.

Last Friday, when my friend and I couldn’t agree on what to have for dinner, we decided we should try a Brazilian restaurant in the next town. She said it has gotten rave review from our Mexican neighbor and I guess that qualifies her to judge whether one is really good when it comes to Latin food. I looked at the online reviews though and it looked promising.

It is a small restaurant but not exactly a hole-in-the-wall. It probably has about 10 small tables that could seat a pair or four people each. There was only one couple dining when we got there although it seemed to fill up with neighborhood customers when we were just about to leave.

Picanha

Picanha

I don’t know much about Brazilian food but their menu consists mostly of meat and some vegetable sides. I ordered a picanha which is a Brazilian stew with caramelized onions and mozzarella. Viv ordered a carne loca, variation of the picanha. She let me taste it and it was almost like my sandwich except with the addition of grilled red pepper. In short, it wasn’t that loca.
Carne Loca

Carne Loca


Both packed a lot of flavor and they gave generous servings. It comes with a choice of sweet potato or potato fries.

Their dinner menu borders on being pricey though but I have no idea how big are the servings. We ordered sandwiches, dinner comes with rice and beans.

DSC_0208Since their menu is quite limited, I still don’t know much about Brazilian dishes. But this place is really worth coming back to again and again and am curious how they cook cassava because that is very common in our food culture too. Also I would like to try their bread and appetizers like empanada.

DSC_0206They also have an in-store where they sell their own hot sauce, cakes for desserts, candies, bottled sweets made out of tropical fruits and other Brazilian food items.
DSC_0205
Taste of Brasil
906 S. Oak Park Ave.
Oak Park, IL
708-383-3550

They have a website but I think it is suspended at the moment.

This entry was posted in Battling the bulge, Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

