In search for great dimsum in Chicago

We are lucky in the US that we can get dimsum all day and all night for as long as that particular place is open. In some Asian countries, dimsum is served only at breakfast.

My sister had a taste for dimsum for weeks now. I’ve long ago concluded that if you want great dim sum, you have to go to Chinatown. A few restaurants may serve a few dishes in their restaurants but if you want the real experience you have to go downtown.

Her choice of a restaurant was Ming Hin and am always open to trying new places for a change. We left early to avoid the holiday rush and to easily get a parking space.

Fortunately we immediately got seated at Ming Hin’s second floor. We were expecting to see a dimsum cart but in this place, you have to order them from the menu. After placing our order, we asked to have the congee first.

congee

congee

The congee with century egg was satisfying and flavorful. It came steaming hot. However, from that point on, we watched as the staff brought the orders from the other tables, as ours came one at a time in long pauses.

It looked like their waitstaff were shorthanded and the one assigned to us was not very friendly either. Tired of waiting, we decided it was time to cancel the rest of our orders and leave. It was like leaving at the middle of your meal. Me and my sister felt disappointed and our dimsum dreams failed. So I suggested to finish our meal at Triple Crown, the regular place me and my friends frequent. There was a line and a wait of 20 minutes but service was very efficient. At this point my brother-in-law already lost his appetite and we were feeling full. We only made a few orders including my favorite dimsum and Taiwan noodles just so they could try the place. We didn’t finish all the food so they took them home.

Funny thing was on our way back to our parking, a long line has formed outside Ming Hin. I told my sister, “are we missing something?” We agreed that their food was good and the place was clean, but their service was lousy. DSC_0247 However, next time, we’ll just go to Triple Crown where the food is just as good but the service way more efficient.

Wentworth Street

Wentworth Street

Chinese Veteran Memorial

Chinese Veteran Memorial

This entry was posted in Battling the bulge, Chicago, Chinese, Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to In search for great dimsum in Chicago

  1. restlessjo says:

    I’m feeling awfully full, and I didn’t eat a mouthful, Bebs! 😦

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Jo!

    Like

  3. lolaWi says:

    i miss triple crown! 🙂

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    The dimsum tastes all the same in all of them, however, there’s a difference in service. My friend Jane used to go to Phoenix Restaurant but I haven’t been there for awhile, they were good too.

    Like

  5. I love dimsum! It’s one food my family and I truly enjoy. A special treat every time. Whew! The your post made me so hungry. Now I am craving for one…

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Dimsum is great. They are small servings that each is different from the other. Cheap and filling too!

    Like

  7. Looks delicious! I love dimsum

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    Oh Janaline, me and my sisters went back to the second place today. Am so full and sorry for it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

