Baby shower picnic

DSC_0333

DSC_0327Oh yes, I’ve been busy like everyone else last July 4th weekend. Sunday I found myself at another baby shower, this time for Kris and Thania. Kris is my godson and of course I didn’t want to miss it for anything else.
DSC_0330
Besides I’ve been wanting to have a picnic and what better excuse than a baby shower and the weather was just as beautiful as the day before.
DSC_0415

They picked a nice place – Old School Forest Preserve in Libertyville. Quite a drive from home but as I said, I had to be there. I do take my role as godmother seriously, provided I am not a party to 60 godparents which in that case I would excuse myself.

You drive into a forested area and the park is well layed out. There is a circumferential road so you can’t get lost and each party has their own sheltered nook, separated from other parties by islands of prairie plants and trees.

DSC_0413
Each shelter are well-marked and labeled too so it is easy to find your party. The park is very well-maintained. They also have wide trails for hikers.
DSC_0353

DSC_0401

DSC_0402
The grass lawns were mowed so one could easily enjoy walking around, enjoy the prairie plants and enjoy the view. I was hoping to see a pond but I missed that one.
DSC_0391
Anyway, the party was so much fun. Their parents, relatives and many of their friends were there and they prepared games for everyone to enjoy. Some were outright funny, some quite ridiculous and outrageous (I must be showing my age) – contestants simulating the role of new parents. I guess that gives them an idea that having a baby is not all fun but of course one could never diminish the joys of having a child of your own.

This entry was posted in Family, Food, Friendships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baby shower picnic

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    A lovely location for such a special event! Wonderful captures of the activity and the flowers!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Sue! It was a great time – had so much fun and the venue was great. Love the trees and wildflowers.

    Like

  3. Amy says:

    What a fun event! Food looks delicious. 🙂

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    And of course we all over ate! Such is the end when you go to a picnic – regrets come later Amy. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

