The Daily Post Challenge: Creepy

San Juan de Bautista Mission Church old cemetery

San Juan de Bautista Mission Church old cemetery

Nothing creeps me more than a cemetery, whether old or new, in ground or whatever. Death is not a favorite subject matter for me.

DSC_0020

Above is the National Geologic Park in Montana as a result of an earthquake in 1959. What happened was truly nightmarish for those who experienced it. In all 28 people died. Read the story here. I have passed this park twice in my life and it always gave me that creepy feeling. Imagine the earth underneath the lake moving and the mountains breaking. It was hellish they said.

My entry to the Daily Post Challenge: Creepy. See more entries here.

This entry was posted in Photo Challenge, Vacation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Daily Post Challenge: Creepy

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    How terrible it must have been that earthquake. Very creepy to be in the exact spot.

    Like

  2. Cris says:

    What an odd place to have a cemetery, right in your own back yard. I was at work in Salt Lake City, Utah when everything around me started moving around. The strange thing was the effect it had on my brain. it totally disoriented me. My brain went into freeze mode. I couldn’t even think. I later found out there was a 7.0 earthquakel just the other side of the Idaho border, around 80 miles away. Now, THAT was creepy!
    Here’s my Creepy:
    https://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2015/08/15/weekly-photo-challenge-creepy-ghosts-of-children/

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    Wasn’t that sad and unbelievable? It’s been years and still that place give me the creeps. Those dead trees and the landslide are solemn reminders of that tragic night.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    @ Sue: So sad and unbelievable. Death comes in unexpected places so they say.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lolaWi says:

    specific spots where tragic death occurred are for sure creepy. great take on the challenge, B 🙂

    Like

  6. megtraveling says:

    These are perfect choices but they are also poignant and a little sad… 🙂

    Like

  7. restlessjo says:

    I cannot imagine being involved in an earthquake, Bebs. Just looking at that shot is enough!

    Like

  8. Amy says:

    It looks sad….

    Like

  9. Tahira says:

    Goodness, that Earthquake Lake story is INDEED creepy. What a horrifying night and what a tragic way to die. Mother Nature can at times be such a beast. And while it is horrifying I am at the same time riveted by this story, Bebs. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Great post.

    Like

  10. bebs1 says:

    I could not imagine how those people felt – well I guess anyone confronted with such disaster for that matter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

